You are here

Diocesan Council

Diocesan Council acts as the Convention in the interim between meetings and is canonically responsible for long-range planning and determining program priorities.  The Council acting for Convention reviews and evaluates programs approved by Convention.

The Council membership includes the Bishop; the Secretary of Convention; the Treasurer of Convention; clergy and lay representatives from the ten districts; and bishop’s appointments.

Officers

The Rt. Rev. Carlye J. Hughes, President
chughes@dioceseofnewark.org

Mr. John King, Secretary
jking@dioceseofnewark.org

Mr. Sam Reckford, Treasurer
sreckford@dioceseofnewark.org

Ms. Diane Sammons, Esq., Chancellor
dsammons@nagelrice.com

Mr. John C. Garde, Esq., Vice Chancellor
jgarde@mccarter.com

Steering Committee Members

The Rev. E. Michael Allen

Ms. Carol Harrison-Arnold

The Rev. Margaret Otterburn

The Rev. Diana Wilcox

Class of 2021

The Rev. E. Michael Allen (St. Paul's, Morris Plains) fathermichael@mac.com

Ms. Debra M. Cook (Grace Church, Nutley) dmcook617@gmail.com

The Rev. Deacon Nancy Hansen, nancy0hansen@gmail.com

Mr. Bert Jones (St. Luke's Church, Montclair) bjones9234@verizon.net 

Ms. Sue Morgan (All Saints' Church, Glen Rock ) sue.morgan1066@gmail.com

The Rev. Margaret Otterburn (Church of the Messiah, Chester) margaretotterburn@msn.com

Mr. Dennis Piccirillo (St. Dunstan's Church, Succasunna ) djpiccirillo@gmail.com

The Rev. Anthony Puca (Grace Church, Westwood & Holy Trinity, Hillsdale) rector@gracewestwood.org

The Rev.Diana Wilcox (Christ Church, Bloomfield/Glen Ridge) rector@christchurchepiscopal.org

Class of 2022

Ms. Sheila Barcus (St. Andrew's Church, Newark) stbarcus@yahoo.com

The Rev. Bill Cruse (St. John's Memorial Church, Ramsey) bcruse61@gmail.com

Mr. Dale Ellis (St. Andrew & Holy Communion, South Orange) DLE22376@gmail.com

Dr. Susan Godar (Christ Church, Pompton Lakes) SHGodar@yahoo.com

The Rev.Tom Murphy (The Church of St. Paul and Incarnation, Jersey City) tmurphy@stpaulsjc.org

Ms. Elizabeth Rundquist (St. Mark's Church, Teaneck) elizabethar.er@gmail.com

The Rev. Susan Sica (St. Gregory's Church, Parsippany) SaintGregorysChurch@gmail.com

Ms. Marguerite Smith (St. Peter's Church, Mountain Lakes) smithmeg@optonline.net

The Rev. Paula Toland (St. Stephen's Church, Millburn) rector@ststephensmillburn.org

Class of 2023

Ms. Michelle Borden (St. Agnes' Church, Little Falls) mbtribute@gmail.com

Ms. Carol Harrison-Arnold (The Church of St. Paul and Incarnation, Jersey City) cha4schoolboard@gmail.com

Ms. Suzanne Hesse (St. Clement's Church, Hawthorne) suzanneh12345@yahoo.com

The Rev. Tom Mathews (Christ Church, Ridgewood) rector@christchurchridgewood.org

Ms. Jewels Quelly (St. James' Church, Hackettstown) jewelsquelly@gmail.com

The Rev. Liz Searle (Church of Our Saviour, Secaucus) revsearle@gmail.com

Ms. Kathleen Simon (The Church of St. Paul and Incarnation, Jersey City) kathleensimon@aol.com

Ms. Mary Sunden (Grace Church, Westwood) msunden@gmail.com

Ms. Lynn Tyler (Church of the Good Shepherd, Wantage) lynnb.t.44@gmail.com

Staff Resources

The Rev. Canon Margo Peckham Clark, Canon for Congregational Life
mapclark@dioceseofnewark.org

The Rev. Canon Andrew R. Wright, ThD, Canon to the Ordinary
awright@dioceseofnewark.org