You are here

Diocesan Council

Diocesan Council acts as the Convention in the interim between meetings and is canonically responsible for long-range planning and determining program priorities.  The Council acting for Convention reviews and evaluates programs approved by Convention.

The Council membership includes the Bishop; the Secretary of Convention; the Treasurer of Convention; clergy and lay representatives from the ten districts; and bishop’s appointments.


The Rt. Rev. Carlye J. Hughes, President

Mr. John King, Secretary

Mr. Sam Reckford, Treasurer

Ms. Diane Sammons, Esq., Chancellor

Steering Committee Members

The Rev. Bill Cruse

The Rev. Dcn. Nancy Hansen

Ms. Carol Harrison Arnold, Vice President

The Rev. Tom Mathews

Class of 2024

Ms. Larysa Cohen (St. Luke's, Montclair)

The Rev. Asa David Coulson (Grace, Madison)

The Rev. Deacon Nancy Hansen,

The Rev. Grant Mansfield (St. George's, Maplewood)

Mr. Jerrick Rutherford (St. Andrew & Holy Communion, South Orange)

Mr. Robert C. Ross (St. Agnes & St. Paul's, East Orange)

Ms. Vanessa Wigfall (Trinity & St. Philip's Cathedral, Newark)

Ms. Ross Wisnewski (St. Mary's, Sparta)

The Rev. Lorna Woodham (Christ Church, Budd Lake)

Class of 2025

Ms. Laura Amerman (Grace Church Nutley)

Ms. Juanita Barrow (All Saints Church, Leonia)

The Rev. Brent Bates (Grace Church, Newark)

The Rev. Joan Conley (St. Mark's Church, Teaneck)

The Rev. Bill Cruse (St. John's Memorial Church, Ramsey)

The Rev. Lorna Erixson (St. Mark’s Mendham)

The Rev. Dcn. Len Roberts (Holy Trinity Hillsdale & Grace Westwood)

Ms. Marguerite Smith (St. Peter's Church, Mountain Lakes)

Class of 2026

The Rev. Raul Ausa (Trinity, Allendale)

Mr. Robert Cottingham (Epiphany and Christ Church, Orange)

Mr. David Drislane (Christ Church, Bloomfield/Glen Ridge)

Ms. Carol Harrison-Arnold (The Church of St. Paul and Incarnation, Jersey City)

Ms. Suzanne Hesse (St. Clement's Church, Hawthorne)

The Rev. Tom Mathews (Christ Church, Ridgewood)

Ms. Jewels Quelly (St. James' Church, Hackettstown)

The Rev. Jon Richardson (St. David's, Kinnelon)

Staff Resources

The Rev. Canon Margo Peckham Clark, Canon for Congregational Life

The Rev. Canon Andrew R. Wright, ThD, Canon to the Ordinary