You are here

Actions of the 145th Annual Diocesan Convention

145th Annual Diocesan Convention. CYNTHIA L. BLACK PHOTO
John King, Secretary of Convention
The 145th Annual Diocesan Convention. CYNTHIA L. BLACK PHOTO

A summary of all actions taken by Deputies at the 145th Annual Diocesan Convention.


Deputies voted to adopt the 2019 diocesan budget.

Constitution & Canons

Deputies voted to adopt the following amendments:

Amendment to Canon 1: Changes the requirement that every Convention be opened with the celebration of Holy Communion, to the requirement that every Convention celebrate Holy Communion within the official schedule of the Convention.

Amendment to Canon 21: Adds the Trustees, the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor to the Standing Committe, the Diocesan Council and the ACTS/VIM Board as positions which an individual can serve no more than one at any given time, and requires resignation from conflicting positions within three months of the adoption of this amendment.

The final text of these amendments will be posted at as soon as it becomes available.


Deputies voted to adopt the following resolutions:

HR Resolutions I and II: Minimum Cash Salary for Clergy and Continuing Education Allowance

Diocesan Resolution 2019_AC145_01: Moving the Convention of the Diocese of Newark toward a more Digital Future

Diocesan Resolution 2019_AC145_02: Recognizing and Ending Domestic Violence in our Congregations

Diocesan Resolution 2019_AC145_03: Supporting Transgendered People

Extinct Mission Resolution: St. Paul's Episcopal Church, North Arlington, New Jersey


Deputies elected the following individuals to serve diocesan offices:


CLERGY Class of 2022
The Rev. Sylvester Ekunwe - St. Andrew's, Newark

LAY Class of 2022
Janelle A Grant - St. Paul's, Paterson
Mark A. Trautman - St. Paul's, Englewood

Cathedral Chapter

CLERGY Class of 2022
The Rev. Canon Matthew T.L. Corkern - Calvary, Summit

LAY Class of 2022
Rosie Grant - St. Paul's, Paterson

Constitution & Canons - Class of 2020

Thomas A. Bisdale - Grace Church, Westwood
Richard Bollon - St. John's, Passaic
T.D. Cairns - St. Clement's, Hawthorne
The Rev. Kevin P.J. Coffey - Atonement, Fair Lawn
John C. Garde - Grace Church, Madison
The Rev. Joseph A. Harmon - Epiphany and Christ Church, Orange
Laura A. Russell - All Saints, Hoboken
John Sogliuzzo, Esq. - Christ Church, Short Hills
John G. Webb, III, Esq. - St. Luke and St. Mary, Hope and Belvidere

Disciplinary Board

CLERGY Class of 2025
The Rev. Willie Smith - Trinity, Cliffside Park

LAY Class of 2024
John L Smith - Trinity & St. Philip's Cathedral, Newark

Standing Committee

CLERGY Class of 2023
The Rev. Elaine Ellis Thomas - All Saints, Hoboken

LAY Class of 2023
Michele Simon - St. Paul's, Englewood

Trustees of the Episcopal Fund & Diocesan Properties - Class of 2024

John Garde - Grace Church, Madison
Geraldine Livengood - Christ Church, Newton
Rhonda Lutz - Saviour, Denville

Secretary of Convention (one-year term)

John King - St. Andrew's, Harrington Park

Treasurer of Convention (one-year term)

Sam Reckford - Christ Church, Short Hills

Assistant Treasurer of Convention (one-year term)

Rhonda Lutz - Saviour, Denville