You are here

Bishop Search/Nominating and Transition Committees announced

Search for the XI Bishop of Newark

Thank you all for your continued prayers as we prepare for the search and election of our 11th Bishop of The Diocese of Newark. This time of transition is unique, one which begins with an ending and ends with a beginning, and it allows for and calls us all into prayer and discernment.

At this time, two committees, the Search/Nomination and Transition Committees, have specific roles to play, and we have finalized the membership of those committees.

The Search/Nomination Committee members are:

Ms. Yvonne DeLaCruz
Ms. Janelle Grant
Ms. Patrice Henderson
Ms. Geraldine Livengood
The Rev. Tom Mathews
The Rev. Christine McCloud
Mr. Bernard Milano
The Rev. Thomas Murphy
The Rev. Bernie Poppe
The Rev. Jerry Racioppi (Co-Chair)
Ms. Michele Simon (Co-Chair)

The Transition Committee members are:

The Rev. Bill Allport
Ms. Gail Barkley
The Rev. Ken Boccino
The Rev. Tim Carr
The Rev. Matthew Corkern
Ms. Wendy Drake-Schneider
Mr. John Garde
Ms. Diana Gamarra
Ms. Carol Harrison-Arnold (Co-Chair)
The Rev. Rose Hassan
The Rev. Audrey Hasselbrook (Co-Chair)
Ms. Patti Neil
Mr. Michael Otterburn
The Rev. Susan Sica
Mr. Robert Simmons

Both Committees will be supported by a Chaplain, The Rev. Shawn Carty, and we are grateful for the guidance and expertise of the Rev. Thaddeus Bennett and the Rev. Kimberly Jackson, our Episcopal Election Consultants.

As they begin their work in earnest this summer, please continue to pray for Bishop Beckwith, our Diocese, and for our next Diocesan Bishop.

Gracious God,

We, your people in the Diocese of Newark, give you thanks and praise for your work among us and through us, generation to generation. Lead us in the months ahead as we prayerfully search for our next Bishop. Raise up for us a steadfast steward who will embrace our broad and blessed diversity and uphold the apostolic heritage of your Church. Guide us to a faithful witness who speaks the Gospel truth in love and joy, and intimately knows your Word and world. Direct us, your disciples, in our discernment so our faith may increase and our works glorify your Name.

All this we ask through Jesus Christ our Lord, who with you and the Holy Spirit, be honor and glory throughout all ages. Amen


The Standing Committee
The Rev. Mary E. Davis
Ms. Wendy B. Drake-Schneider
The Rev. Joseph A. Harmon
Ms. Patrice M. Henderson
Ms. Naomi E. Horsky – President
The Rev. Deacon Chris L. McCloud
The Rev. John A. Mennell – Vice President